Privacy Policy

If you are a registered Member (“Member”) of the Climate Change Adaptation Community of Practice (“CCACoP”), you are deemed to have read and accepted the Privacy Policy (“Policy”). Please read the information below before you start to use the CCACoP. If you have any questions or issues please contact the Ontario Centre for Climate Impacts and Adaptation Resources (“MIRARCO/OCCIAR”) or the CCACoP Coordinator, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (“Coordinator”).

We are committed to protecting your personal information and privacy online. Your personal information is used by us in order to:

  • Administer and support the CCACoP and your use of the CCACoP;
  • Provide you with access to the appropriate areas and functions of the CCACoP (including to particular content);
  • Contact you by email from time to time, in order to ask for your views on the CCACoP and/or any of the content on the CCACoP;
  • Notify you occasionally about important changes or developments to the CCACoP;
  • Allow us to assess, analyze, review, and improve the services MIRARCO/OCCIAR offers; and/or
  • For other purposes to which you have given your consent.

If you register on the CCACoP as a Member, we may collect and store the following data about you:

  • Information you provide via the "Registration" page when registering as a Member of the CCACoP, including your name, email address, job title, company/organization, city, province and any comments you provide;
  • Information you provide via the "My Profile" page;
  • Information you provide when you submit or post content to CCACoP or when you contact us;  
  • Additional information the Coordinator may request from you from time to time either by contacting you directly or through the CCACoP, although there will be no obligation for you to provide this additional information; and
  • Details of your visits to the CCACoP including, but not limited to, traffic data, location data, etc. This is statistical data about Members’ browsing actions and patterns, and does not identify any individual. 

We also may use information provided by you (such as what you think about the CCACoP and improvements that you would like to see made) or statistical information collected, so that we can improve our service to you or make your visits to CCACoP more rewarding. We do not disclose any of your information to other parties, except where you have given your consent in the "My Profile" section of the CCACoP. 

How MIRARCO/OCCIAR protects your personal information

MIRARCO/OCCIAR is strongly committed to data security and we take reasonable and appropriate steps to protect your personal information from unauthorized access, loss, misuse, alteration or corruption. MIRARCO/OCCIAR has put in place physical, electronic, and managerial procedures that seek to safeguard the information you provide us.

However, owing to the nature of the internet we cannot guarantee the security of any information you transmit to us. We recommend that you take every precaution to protect your personal information while you are using the CCACoP.

How long we keep your personal information

We will keep and use the personal information for as long as you are registered as a Member of the CCACoP, and for at least 1year afterwards, in order to deal with any consequent queries or complaints you may have.

If you are a registered Member and cease to access the CCACoP for over 1 year then we shall mark your personal profile as "gone away" and inactivate your registration. If you wish to use the CCACoP after such period has elapsed then you will need to re-register with us.

Updating your personal information

If you are a registered Member, you can access the information we hold about you and you can amend or update any inaccuracies in your personal information by logging on to your personal profile. If you have any other queries regarding the information we hold about you then please contact us.

Politique sur la protection de la vie privée

Si vous êtes un membre inscrit (« Membre ») de la Communauté de pratique de l’adaptation au changement climatique (la « CdPACC »), vous êtes censé avoir lu et accepté la Politique sur la protection de la vie privée (la « Politique »). Veuillez lire les renseignements ci-dessous avant de commencer à utiliser la CdPACC. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre ontarien de ressources sur les impacts climatiques et l’adaptation (MIRARCO/CORICA) ou la coordonnatrice de la CdPACC, Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. (« la Coordonnatrice »).

Nous tenons à protéger vos renseignements personnels et votre vie privée en ligne. Nous utilisons vos renseignements personnels pour :

  • gérer et soutenir la CdPACC et votre utilisation de la CdPACC;
  • vous donner accès aux sections et aux fonctions appropriées de la CdPACC (y compris l’accès à des contenus en particulier);
  • communiquer avec vous de temps à autre afin de vous demander vos opinions sur la CdPACC et/ou des contenus de la CdPACC;
  • vous aviser de temps à autre d’importants changements ou développements apportés à la CdPACC;
  • nous permettre d’évaluer, d’analyser, de réviser et d’améliorer les services offerts par MIRARCO/CORICA; et/ou
  • d’autres fins auxquelles vous avez consenti.

Si vous vous inscrivez à la CdPACC à titre de Membre, nous pouvons obtenir et conserver les données suivantes à votre sujet :

  • l’information que vous fournissez dans la page « Inscription » lorsque vous vous inscrivez à titre de Membre de la CdPACC, y compris votre nom, votre adresse courriel, votre titre professionnel, le nom de votre entreprise ou organisme, votre ville, votre province et tout commentaire que vous fournissez;
  • l’information que vous fournissez dans la page « Mon profil »;
  • l’information que vous fournissez quand vous soumettez ou affichez du contenu dans la CdPACC ou quand vous communiquez avec nous;
  • d’autres renseignements que la Coordonnatrice peut vous demander de temps à autre en communiquant avec vous directement ou par l’entremise de la CdPACC, bien que vous ne soyez pas obligé de fournir ces renseignements additionnels; et
  • les détails de vos visites à la CdPACC, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, les statistiques de trafic, de localisation, etc. Ces données statistiques sur les orientations et les patrons de la navigation des Membres n’identifient pas une personne individuelle.

Nous pouvons aussi utiliser les renseignements que vous fournissez (comme vos opinions sur la CdPACC et les améliorations que vous aimeriez qu’on y apporte) ou les données statistiques recueillies pour améliorer notre service et rendre vos visites à la CdPACC plus profitables. Nous ne divulguons aucun de vos renseignements à d’autres parties, sauf si vous y avez consenti dans la section « Mon profil » de la CdPACC.

Comment MIRARCO/CORICA protège vos renseignements personnels

MIRARCO/CORICA tient fermement à la sécurité des données et prend des mesures raisonnables et appropriées afin de protéger vos renseignements personnels contre l’accès non autorisé, la perte, l’utilisation inappropriée, la modification ou la corruption. MIRARCO/CORICA a mis en place des procédures physiques, électroniques et logistiques qui visent à protéger les renseignements que vous nous fournissez.

Cependant, vu la nature d’Internet, nous ne pouvons pas garantir la sécurité de tout renseignement que vous nous fournissez. Nous vous recommandons de ne négliger aucune précaution afin de protéger vos données personnelles quand vous utilisez la CdPACC.

La période de conservation de vos renseignements personnels

Nous conservons et utilisons vos données personnelles pendant que vous êtes un Membre inscrit de la CdPACC et au moins une année par la suite, pour pouvoir traiter toute question ou plainte que vous pourriez éventuellement soulever.

Si vous êtes un Membre inscrit et que vous n’accédez pas à la CdPACC pendant plus d’un an, nous inscrirons dans votre profil le statut « absent » et nous désactiverons votre inscription. Si vous désirez utiliser la CdPACC à la suite de cette période, vous devrez vous y inscrire de nouveau.

Mise à jour de vos renseignements personnels

Si vous êtes un Membre inscrit, vous pouvez accéder aux renseignements que nous conservons à votre sujet et vous pouvez modifier ou mettre à jour des renseignements inexacts en ouvrant une session dans votre profil personnel. Si vous avez d’autres questions au sujet des renseignements que nous conservons à votre sujet, veuillez communiquer avec nous.